Bulk Item Pickup

*Bulk garbage collection occurs once per month, on your last regular garbage pickup day.*

Reminder: Bulk pickup is based on the DATE, not on the day of the week.

Bulk Items Include Things Like:
Couches, chairs, tables, bookcases, mattresses & boxsprings, carpets, toys, and rimless automobile tires

Upcoming bulk pickup days:

Monday & Thursday regular pickup days: your bulk pickup in February 2017 will be Monday, February 27, 2017.
Your next bulk pickup days in 2017 will be: Thursday, March 30; and Thursday, April 27.

Tuesday & Friday regular pickup days: your bulk pickup in February 2017 will be Tuesday, February 28, 2017.
Your next bulk pickup days in 2017 will be: Friday, March 31; and Friday, April 28.

Wednesday & Saturday regular pickup days: your bulk pickup in February 2017 will be Saturday, February 25, 2017.
Your next bulk pickup days in 2017 will be: Wednesday, March 29; and Saturday, April 29.

——–

The Following are Not Bulk Items — Do Not Put Them Out at the Curb with Bulk:

——–

The Following Items are Appliances/Scrap Metal Do Not Put Them Out with Bulk:
Refrigerators, freezers, air conditioners, washers, dryers, desks, auto parts, etc.

Scrap Metal is picked up only by appointment on the last Wednesday of each month. Schedule on or before the Friday before the collection date.

  • Schedule by Friday, October 21 for pickup on Wednesday, October 26, 2016
  • Schedule by Friday, November 25 for pickup on Wednesday, November 30, 2016
  • Schedule by Friday, December 23 for pickup on Wednesday, December 28, 2016
  • Schedule by Friday, January 20 for pickup on Wednesday, January 25, 2017

To schedule Appliance/Scrap Metal pickup:

  1. Complete an online Service Request, or
  2. Email ticolari@livingstonnj.org, or
  3. Call 973-992-5000, ext. #5522

Provide your name, address, and the metal items to be picked up.

Note:  If you schedule via Service Request or by email, you will receive a return email confirmation. Phone calls will not receive a separate confirmation.

——–

The Following Items are Electronics – Do Not Put Them Out with Bulk:

  • Computer monitors, TVs, computer CPUs, laptops, computer peripherals such as USBs and other cables, monitors & flat screens, mainframes, scanners, telephones, cell phones & telephone systems, fax machines & central office equipment, printers & copiers, electronic circuit boards & components, stereo equipment, electronic games, rechargeable batteries, portable electronic music devices & PDAs.

The Township will hold 3 annual Electronics Recycling & Paper Shredding Events at the Sr./Community Center Parking Lot, 204 Hillside Avenue. Dates will be posted on the Recycling page.

Note:  Essex County residents who are unable to bring electronic items to the Computer and Electronics Recycling Day can deliver their items free of charge to:
Advanced Recovery, Inc.50 Grafton Avenue, Newark. For more information about the vendor, call 973-485-9100.

Updated September 2016.